A huge thank you to all who attended our End of Season Party & Awards Night last Friday. We are pleased to share our award winners for the 2016/17 season. On behalf of the UWAAC committee, coaches, athletes and community, we congratulate you.

UWAAC Male Track Athlete of the Year: Timothy Throssell
Kicking off his season with a third placing in a stellar 300m field at the UWAAC Big 6, Tim went on to bring home the gold medal with his UWA team mates in both the State 4x400m relay championships and the Club v Club competition, before achieving silver in the 400mH at the State Championships and bronze medal and new personal best in the Australian Athletics Championships.

UWAAC Female Track Athlete of the Year: Ella Pardy
This was awarded to a very talented athlete, who competed at the Paralympic Games in Rio last year in the 100m and brought home a bronze medal in the 4x100m. Ella not only competed alongside Usain Bolt at the Nitro Athletes event earlier this year, but also took out a gold medal in the open women’s ambulant 200m and a bronze medal in the open women’s ambulant 100m at this year’s National Championships.

UWAAC Male Field Athlete of the Year: Jackson Hamilton
Despite being one of the youngest in the age group, Jackson broke the Australian U16 para javelin record 5 times in the last 12 months. He had a successful campaign at the Australian All Schools championships with gold in both the U15 shot put and U16 discus para events. He went on to break two Australian junior records in the U16 discus and U16 javelin para events, winning gold in both events, whilst bringing home silver in the U16 para shot put.

UWAAC Female Field Athlete of the Year: Liz Parnov
Liz successfully defended her National title in the open women’s pole vault, jumping 4.30m at the recent National Championships. Liz had a great season, with a new personal best of 4.51, just months after breaking her leg during training. Liz will now head overseas with her sights set on qualifying for the IAAF World Championships in London later this year.

UWAAC U18 Male Athlete of the Year: Thomas Throssell
This year’s junior male athlete of the year had a great season full of personal bests and medals in the State Relay Championships and State Championships. In an exciting race at the Australian Athletics Championships, he dipped to secure bronze in the U17 boys 400m before taking the gold medal in the U17 400mH.

UWAAC Lyn Foreman U18 Female Athlete of the Year: Sophie White
Sophie broke the national record in the 90mH at the 2016 Australian All Schools, before an incredibly successful campaign at the Australian Athletics Championships. She took home an amazing 6 medals with gold in the U16 90mH, 100m and 4x200m relay, gold in the U17 100mH in a meet record and bronze in both the U16 4x100m, before stepping up to the open 4x100m team and taking another bronze medal for collection.

UWAAC Gary Aitken Male Cross Country Athlete of the Year: Joe Turner
This guy runs more K’s in a week than the Kardashians have in their names! Joe secured the bronze medal in the steeplechase at the 2016 Australian University Games, but isn’t just talented at jumping over things and into water, he is more than capable on the flat and in the bush, taking out 4th place at the Short Course Cross Country Championships and 7th in the Long Course.

UWAAC Female Cross Country Athlete of the Year: Kiarra Nazaroff
Kiarra represented UWAAC at State Short Cross Country championships where she took out the gold medal in the U18 event and placed 4th in the Long Course State Championships, before representing WA at the 2016 Australian National Cross Country Championships, where she placed 44th overall in the U18 4km.

Captains Trophy: Louise Soia
The Captain’s Trophy this year is awarded to a role model athlete, who constantly demonstrates an ongoing commitment to athletics, sportsmanship and club spirit. All her hard work behind the scenes to help plan, organise and set up/pack away club events, such as the UWAAC Quiz Night and Club v Club competitions, as well as organising relay teams, does not go unnoticed. This club would not be the same without you and as such, our Club Captains have chosen to award the Captain’s Trophy for 2017 to Louise Soia.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s